Invited Speakers

Home > Scientific Program > Invited Speakers

Presidential Lecture

  • Stanislas Dehaene Stanislas Dehaene College de France, France Title   How we learn: Building bridges between neuroscience and education Achievement  
    • Director of INSERM Unit 562 “Cognitive Neuroimaging”
    • 1999 James S. McDonnel Foundation Centennial Fellowship
      Biography   Abstract

Torsten Wiesel Lecture

  • Hee-Sup Shin Hee-Sup Shin Center for Cognition and Sociality, Institute for Basic Science, Korea Title   Genetic and circuit analysis of empathy behaviors in the mouse Achievement  
    • 2015 Hotchkiss Lectureship Award
    • 2006 National Honor Scientist, MOST
      Biography   Abstract

IBRO-Kavli Lecture

  • Steven E. Hyman Steven E. Hyman Stanley Center for Psychiatric Research at Broad Institute of MIT and Harvard, USA Title   A new molecular map of psychiatric disease mechanisms Achievement  
    • 2015 President of Society for Neuroscience
      Biography   Abstract

Plenary Lecture

  • Erwin Neher Erwin Neher Max Planck Institute for Biophysical Chemistry Research, Germany Title   Modulation of short-term plasticity at a glutamatergic synapse Achievement  
    •1991 Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine
      Biography   Abstract

Dana Neuroethics Lecture

  • Judy Illes Judy Illes Canada Research Chair in Neuroethics, University of British Columbia, Canada Title   On the ethics of neuroethics in international brain research Achievement  
    • Co-Founder and President, International Neuroethics Society
      Biography   Abstract

Keynote Speakers

  • Joseph S. Takahashi Joseph S. Takahashi University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center, USA Title   Circadian clock genes and the transcriptional architecture of the clock mechanism Achievement  
    • 2014 Thomson Reuters Highly Cited Researcher in Biology and Biochemistry
    • 2012 Outstanding Scientific Achievement Award from the Sleep Research Society
      Biography   Abstract
  • Jerold Chun Jerold Chun Sanford Burnham Prebys Medical Discovery Institute, USA Title   Genomic mosaicism and the Alzheimer’s disease brain Achievement  
    • 2018 Leadership Award, Hydrocephalus Association
    • 2016 Alzheimer’s San Diego Researcher of the Year
      Biography   Abstract
  • Hailan Hu Hailan Hu Zhejiang University Interdisciplinary Institute of Neuroscience and Technology, China Title   Neural mechanism of social and emotional behavior
    – from pecking order to ketamine
    • 2016 Tan Jia Zhen Life Science Award
    • 2015 Chang Jiang Scholar Award
      Biography   Abstract
  • Yukiko Gotoh Yukiko Gotoh Graduate School of Pharmaceutical Sciences, The University of Tokyo, Japan Title   Chromatin-level regulation of neural stem/progenitor cell fate Achievement  
    • 6th JSPS PRIZE, Japan Society for the Promotion of Science
    • Japan Academy Medal
      Biography   Abstract
  • Masanobu Kano Masanobu Kano Department of Neurophysiology, Graduate School of Medicine, The University of Tokyo, Japan Title   Neural mechanisms of synapse remodeling in the developing brain Achievement  
    • 2015 Uehara Award
    • 2015 Medal with Purple Ribbon
      Biography   Abstract
  • Peter Mombaerts Peter Mombaerts Max Planck Research Unit for Neurogenetics, Germany Title   Targeting olfaction Achievement  
    Director, Max Planck Institute of Biophysics, Frankfurt (2006-2013)
    Director, Max Planck Research Unit for Neurogenetics (2013-now)
      Biography   Abstract